Announcements » Newsletter » Archive » 2003 » December 2003

December 2003


On behalf of the Executive Board of the Society of Fleet Supervisors, I would like to extend our best wishes to all our Members, family, and friends, for a safe, happy, and healthy holiday season. I also want to extend our thoughts and prayers to the members of our country's armed services who are away from their families and in harm's way during the holiday season.

By this time, the Scholarship Awards Dinner has already passed. I would be remiss if I did not take the opportunity to once again thank our Special Activities Chairman, Mr. Nick Markatos for another job well done. It was through the tireless efforts of Nick and his Committee Members that the affair was the success we have come to expect.

I look forward to seeing every one at the January meeting. Once again have a great holiday.


Have a safe and happy holiday season! Please remember that there is no general Membership meeting during the month of December. We will meet again on January 21, 2004 at the New Hyde Park Inn.

It's time to concentrate on the 2004 EXPO! An application for an exhibitor's table is available in this issue and can also be downloaded from our web site. Tables are on a first come, first served basis so if you want display your wares in a specific area, get your reservations in early. We are limited to 46 booths.


March is creeping up on us fast. If you have a Bylaws change proposal, please submit it in writing before the March meeting.

Excerpts from our Constitution and Bylaws:

Article V

1. Business meetings of the Society and Executive Committee, and other committees shall be held as advised by the Bylaws. There shall be no attempt at Executive Board or regular meetings to solicit, sell or advertise products or services.

Article VI

1. The finances of the Society shall be derived from dues and other sources as may be approved by the Executive Committee.

Article VII

1. The Society shall make such Bylaws, as it may deem necessary for the proper conduct of the Society.


Please visit the web site of our Members from MetroCare Ambulance at the next time you are on the Internet. Our OEM Member from International Truck and Engine Corp. also invites you to check out their website at

2004 dues letters have been sent out to the Membership. If you have not received your dues notice, please let me know and I will mail or fax a duplicate to you.

Congratulations to the following Members who have attended all the regular meetings during 2003:

Frank Almona
Frank Carpenter
Leonard Huffmire
Robert Lagnese
William Misita
Carl Orza
Dennis Roskop
Robert Spiotti
Nuno Tardo

Our present Membership is comprised of:
Members 121
Life Members 16
Editorial Members 1
Associate Members 43
Honorary Members 2
Original Equipment Manufacturer 1
Apprentice Fleet Supervisors 2

Total Membership 186

Attendance at the November meeting:
Members 48
Guests 16
Total 64

Current CONSECUTIVE attendance records are:
Bill Misita, Jellinek Auto Radiator - 89, 9/92 -
George Pastor, H. John Davis, Inc. - 70, 5/94 - 5/03
Nuno Tardo, Universal Ford - 63, 3/89 - 1/97
Robert Lagnese, SUNY, Farmingdale - 54, 1/97 -
John Cigna, Retired - 50, 2/94 - 3/00
Carl Orza, Retired - 52, 3/97 -
Pat De Martino, Con Edison - 44, 10/90 - 2/96
John Dozis, Fink Baking Co. - 37, 1/96 - 5/00
Nuno Tardo, Retired - 36, 3/97 - 10/01
Bill Ross, Sprague Energy - 33, 11/95 - 1/00


Thank you to all of our advertisers who supported the Journal this past year and made it a success!

As we move along into the New Year, our Member of the Year for 2004 was announced at the Scholarship Awards Dinner and his/her name will be published in the January Newsletter.

Applications for 2004 Journal ads will be available in the January Newsletter and available as a download on our web site.


Our November program was sponsored and presented by Gene Parker, Director of National Accounts for Autocar trucks. He discussed the history of the Autocar, their products, the market they serve, manufacturing techniques and the long-term goals of the company.

The winner of the Big Draw of $50.00 was Gene McGuire of Roadability, Ltd.


Hope everyone enjoys the upcoming Holidays and may the New Year will be a safe and healthy one for all. Let's start preparing for 2004 with plenty of recruiting of new candidates who want to join our Society.

Inducted at the November meeting were:

· Greg Torres, Operations Manager for Salem Truck Leasing of Brooklyn, NY as a Member. Greg oversees the daily operation of the fleet, parts purchasing, DOT inspections, training, mechanics, quality control, negotiating contracts and labor/union negotiations for a leasing fleet of 130 vehicles.
· Teddy Moustakas, Service Manager, North Division for Metro Care Ambulance of Mt. Vernon, NY. Teddy oversees the daily fleet maintenance of vehicles, DOT supervision and inspection, operate and maintain a two bay body shop, supervise six mechanics including fueling and cleaning of 152 vehicles.
· Michael Rogers, National Account Manager, for International Truck and Engine Corp. of Warrenville, IL as an OEM Member. Mike oversees assigned accounts throughout the US and is the key International Parts Representative in the New York area market.


A random drawing at the Scholarship Awards Dinner on Saturday, Dec. 6 determined the six recipients of our Society of Fleet Supervisors Scholarship. The winners were announced at the dinner and will be printed in the January Newsletter. Congratulations to all of our recipients and may our scholarship prove valuable in helping them achieve their goals.

We are now accepting applications for the 2004 Society of Fleet Supervisors Scholarships.


No news is good news on the health and welfare of our Members.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY wishes for our following Members and their spouses:

1/01 Deborah Blakley (Samuel)
1/02 Martin Mandel
1/02 Edward Williams
1/03 Valentina Thomaidis
1/07 John Logerfo
1/09 Lillian Atkins (James)
1/09 Arthur Lewis
1/12 Peter Domante
1/12 Mark Kodner
1/20 Jeanne Bald (Norman)
1/20 Henry Consiglio
1/20 Robert Fauci
1/22 John Collura
1/23 John Davis
1/24 Marie Collura (John)
1/25 Julia Macaluso (Salvatore)
1/26 Norman Bald
1/26 Patricia Davis (John)
1/28 Patricia Dejana (James)
1/28 Pasquale Taddeo
1/29 Carl Orza
1/31 Robert Crandall


Page loaded in 0.0141 seconds.